Friday, 22 December 2017

#BookReview Murder Between the Lines by Radha Vatsal @Sourcebooks @Marablaise

Murder Between the Lines by Radha Vatsal
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Intrepid journalist Kitty Weeks returns to unearth a murderous conspiracy in this WWI saga

In the second book in the acclaimed Kitty Weeks Mystery series, Kitty is tasked with writing a story about Westfield Hall, a prestigious girls' boarding school. Tragedy strikes when a student named Elspeth is found frozen to death in Central Park. The doctors proclaim that the girl's sleepwalking was the cause, but Kitty isn't so sure.

Determined to uncover the truth, Kitty must investigate a more chilling scenario—a murder that may involve Elspeth's scientist father and a new invention by Thomas Edison.

For fans of Susan Elia MacNeal and Jacqueline Winspear, Murder Between the Lines is a rich and spirited novel with irresistible charm, combining true historical events with a thrilling mystery.


Murder Between the Lines is book two in the Kitty Weeks series and I have yet read book one. However, I found this book pretty easy to get into. Kitty Weeks lives with her father and works as a journalist, which economically she doesn't need to do since her father is financially stable. However, working as a journalist is something that she has aspired to do.

In this book is making a reportage about the prestigious boarding school Westfield Hall and there she gets to know a young bright student, Elspeth. Then Kitty, not long after meeting Elspet's outside the school, learns that the girl has been found dead. Apparently, Elspeth has been suffering from sleepwalking, and everyone assumes that she died because of that. Kitty, however, isn't so sure. Could there be someone out there that wanted the young girl dead?

Murder Between the Lines is a book that not really grabbed hold of me. I found the main story, the death of Elspeth to be weak and it was the things happening around that most interested me. Mainly the suffragette moment that Kitty got caught up with after getting the chance to interview Alva Belmont. I found everything concerning Alva Belmont and her impressive life to be far more interesting than Kitty's investigations into Elspeth's life. Honestly, if this book had been more about the suffragette moment than the mysterious death would I have found the story more interesting. The case was just so, meh.

I want to thank Sourcebooks for providing me with a free copy through NetGalley for an honest review!

No comments:

Post a Comment