Tuesday, 23 February 2016

The Silent Girls by Ann Troup Blog Tour

The Silent Girls by Ann Troup
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What if everything you knew was a lie…

This house has a past that won’t stay hidden, and it is time for the dead to speak.

Returning to Number 17, Coronation Square, Edie is shocked to find the place she remembers from childhood reeks of mould and decay. After her aunt Dolly’s death Edie must clear out the home on a street known for five vicious murders many years ago, but under the dirt and grime of years of neglect lurk dangerous truths.

For in this dark house there is misery, sin and dark secrets that can no longer stay hidden. The truth must come out.

Finding herself dragged back into the horrific murders of the past, Edie must find out what really happened all those years ago. But as Edie uncovers the history of the family she had all but forgotten, she begins to wonder if sometimes it isn’t best to leave them buried.

An unforgettable and addictive story, perfect for fans of Lesley Thomson, Diane Chamberlain and Tracy Buchanan.

Review:

I got the opportunity to participate in the blog tour for Anne Troup's book The Lost Girl last year. I liked the book so when I got the opportunity to participate in a blog tour, for her second book The Silent Girls did I say yes right away. And, let me tell you this book is great!

Edie is returning to Number 17, Coronation Square to clean out the house after aunt has died, but her aunt Dolly has one or two secrets hidden in the house. And, not every friendly face is trustworthy will Edie learn during the progress of the book. I like the fact that the street where Edie's aunt lived seems so normal, at first. Then, you slowly see that the street has a darker side. Of course, the murders decades back in the past has given the street a place on the map (there are even murder tours for tourists).

The pacing in the book is good, it doesn't give away all the secrets too fast and I really feel for Edie who is slowly realizing that not everything is fine. She is just there to clean out a house and suddenly the secrets from the past are being revealed and perhaps some secret should not be revealed.

This is the kind of book I love to read, with buried secrets that have been waiting to be revealed. It's a page-turner with a truly great ending. I did have some suspicions that proved to be right. But, that never bothered me. In some cases, like in this book is nice to discover that you were, after all, right. The book never gets boring. I wanted to find out what really happened all the years ago when several women were killed. Did they catch the right killer?

In the end, I just want to say that this is a great book, perfect for anyone that likes to read mystery books with people with deep dark secrets.



About Ann Troup: Ann Troup tells tales and can always make something out of nothing (which means she writes books and can create unique things from stuff other people might not glance twice at). She was once awarded 11 out of 10 for a piece of poetry at school – she now holds that teacher entirely responsible for her inclination to write.

Her writing space is known as ‘the empty nest’, having formerly been her daughters bedroom. She shares this space with ten tons of junk and an elderly Westie, named Rooney, who is her constant companion whether she likes it or not. He likes to contribute to the creative process by going to sleep on top of her paperwork and running away with crucial post-it notes, which have inadvertently become stuck to his fur. She is thinking of renaming him Gremlin.

She lives by the sea in Devon with her husband and said dog. Two children have been known to remember the place that they call home, but mainly when they are in need of a decent roast dinner, it’s Christmas or when only Mum will do. She also has extremely decent stepchildren.

In a former incarnation she was psychiatric nurse, an experience which frequently informs her writing. She has also owned a cafe and an art/craft gallery. Now she only makes bacon sandwiches as a sideline, but does continue to dabble with clay, paint, paper, textiles, glue…you name it. Occasionally she may decide to give away some of these creations (you have been warned!).




No comments:

Post a Comment